                               Encryption Program
                                  Version 1.50


	Encryption Program is an encryption program for Windows 95.  It can
be used to encrypt and decrypt any files.  It can be distributed and used
freely.

	Encryption Program uses bitwise exclusive OR encryption.  Thus,
running a file through it once with a given password changes the contents
with a filter specific to the password, and running the new file through
with the same password creates a file with the same content as the original.
The operation for encrypting and decrypting is the same; the encryption
process is functional, producing an unique answer each time.

	You can encrypt a file by adding it to the list box on the left
side of the Encryption Program window.  Press the "Add a file..." button
and select the file you want or drag a file or files from another window and
drop them in the Encryption Program window.  You will see the file name(s)
appear in the list box.  If you decide you don't want to encrypt a file,
you can remove it from the list by selecting it and pressing the "Delete
File" button.

	When you've put all the files you want to convert in the file list,
type your password into the password and confirmation boxes.  Your password
must be six characters in length or greater, and must be identical in both
boxes.  When these conditions are met, and there are files in the file list,
the "Run" button will become available.  Press it, and the files in the
list will be encrypted/decrypted and will disappear from the list.  If the
encryption fails for some reason, a message box telling you this will appear
and the name will remain on the list.

	By default, Encryption Program checks to see if the files you have
given it have the extension "cpt".  If they do, the newly converted file
will have the same name with the "cpt" removed.  If they don't, the "cpt"
extension will be added.  Thus, when you first encrypt a file it will be
designated by the "cpt" extension, and when you decrypt a "cpt" file the
original filename will be restored.

	Also by default, the "Ask before overwriting a file" check box is
checked.  When the encryption program runs, it will ask whether you want to
overwrite any files which will be overwritten in the process.  If you don't
want such prompting, you can deselect this button.  However, you must be
careful if you do; your old files may be overwritten without your consent.

	You can click on the "Exit" button to quit the program.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cautionary note:

	This is a trivial and easily circumvented encryption scheme.
Please keep this in mind when using the program.